Alpha (old, broken, don't use)

Previews, releases, and other announcements.
User avatar
Dan Gilbert
Developer
Posts: 2579
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Dan Gilbert » Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:45 am

It would be do-able though...and probably not too not trivial. ;) worth checking out.

Nihlo
Posts: 1088
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Nihlo » Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:25 am

revolution instead of evolution for a2 and al2^^
[color=red]Dan Gilbert[/color] wrote:you're my hero Nihlo

seriously
Sum quod credo

User avatar
Dan Gilbert
Developer
Posts: 2579
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Dan Gilbert » Tue Mar 27, 2007 7:25 pm

Nihlo wrote: revolution instead of evolution for a2 and al2^^


right on! lol

sheavi
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 9:17 pm
Location: Repentigny, QC

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by sheavi » Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:48 pm

Really great evolution of Atlas since my last visit. Great work Dan! :)

User avatar
Pauper
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:52 pm

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Pauper » Wed Mar 28, 2007 8:08 pm

mmk, after using this...
i have found one major error, with the new windows vista the center click oepns al of the windows into seperate windows so you can just click on the one you want to open. I dont have vista but... I have the mouse software for it, and it does the same thing! make it so u can change that.
Image

User avatar
Dan Gilbert
Developer
Posts: 2579
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Dan Gilbert » Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:37 pm

lol...

the middle-mouse button thing will be going away, for sure

User avatar
Phanx
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:57 am

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Phanx » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:15 pm

Just a thought on the whole "note" system --

Please don't just put dots on the map and make me mouse over all of them to find the boss. Keep the legend! This is probably the biggest reason I do not use the Cartographer instance maps. While it may look slightly "cleaner" to have just the map with some dots on on it, it's 100x less usable, for me at least. The legend with clickable entries is quick and easy to glance at, find something on, and click on.

Something that would be neat, though, would be the ability to highlight a boss spot on the map when you click on, or maybe even mouseover, the entry in the legend. This wasn't possible in 1.x with the static maps, but depending on how you do the POIs in 2.x.... could work.

User avatar
Dan Gilbert
Developer
Posts: 2579
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Dan Gilbert » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:17 pm

There will be both: Dots (numbers actually) and a legend. Both will be optional.

User avatar
Lothaer
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:07 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Lothaer » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:18 pm

Alpha Map already does this
Image
Titan Team Member.

User avatar
Dan Gilbert
Developer
Posts: 2579
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Dan Gilbert » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:19 pm

Yup. That's one of the things I like about it.

User avatar
Pauper
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:52 pm

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Pauper » Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:45 am

Good!
lol, because i couldnt even open it without closing wow! lol

how is this coming along, havent been here for awhile now.
Image

User avatar
Dan Gilbert
Developer
Posts: 2579
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Dan Gilbert » Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:53 am

Pauper wrote: how is this coming along, havent been here for awhile now.


I've been working on other stuff, been busy with work. Main concern is getting Atlas 1.9 out the door now.

But don't worry, I haven't forgotten about it... ;)

dotted
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:39 am

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by dotted » Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:25 pm

Dan Gilbert wrote: Also, the whole minimap-button thing is really starting to piss me off. Like how the Windows tray pisses me off. I dunno though, maybe it's a necessary evil. I use a square minimap, and it's the last place I want little icons hanging around. Atlas2 may not have a minimap button at all, who knows.

Well if you went though with converting Atlas2 to Ace2 you could use FubarPlugin-2.0 (anotherone of Ckknight's beauty's) to make a FuBar plugin which also creates a minimap button if you rather want that instead of text on the fubar panel.

But that isnt what is nice about it, its that a FuBar minimap button has support for squared minimaps (or atleast Squeenix, havent tried simpleMinimap) - yet another reason for switching to Ace2 libs :p

Daviesh
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 5:50 am
Location: Darwin, Australia
Contact:

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Daviesh » Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:03 pm

That is was I am doing with AL, but unfortunately I am hitting a wall where I am going beyond the was the library is supposed to work.

Deployed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:20 am

Re: Alpha: Atlas v2a4

Post by Deployed » Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:41 am

Dan Gilbert wrote: Also, the whole minimap-button thing is really starting to piss me off. Like how the Windows tray pisses me off. I dunno though, maybe it's a necessary evil. I use a square minimap, and it's the last place I want little icons hanging around. Atlas2 may not have a minimap button at all, who knows.


How about adding a button to the standard map interface which allows a player to access Atlas. I wouldn't suggest this as being the only means to accessing the mod though. Whilst I understand the annoyance many people have with mini-map icons, it is a preference to the individual, and giving several means to accessing the mod might be the better choice in the long run.

However, since it wouldn't be useful during this stage, I'd say that such a thing shouldn't be done until after the first public release.

Post Reply